Favorite Science Fiction Film: Dune

Now on to the next science fiction film, Dune, more specifically Dune (1984).

The rest of the list it’s Located Here.

And the previous movie I covered is Located Here.

Also like before in this review, there may be spoilers to the story.

Now having gotten all of the past topics and links up I will cover why I love this movie so much. Which is surprisingly hard, especially having actually read the book now, and seeing the full possibilities a Dune movie could be.

This film is long, and a bit dull. Not on purpose, but because they are trying to convey a lot of information that happens in the characters heads. The book is brilliant, and is one I consider a masterpiece of writing.

Now when it comes to the book, and why I love it, is because it does a fantastic job breaking down the dangers of a Messiah-like figure (Now I am using this term is a general sense, this can be applied to anyone that is followed with such conviction that they are never questioned). What it does to a person, especially a person who can see all the possible futures, which is why this film would be hard to make really. How do you show all possible futures? But the book shows how Paul Atreides uses the myth of a savior to conquer an entire universe. That’s a bit oversimplified, but there is a lot of thought and philosophy in this book that is hard to unpack quickly. I think the best person to describe the books is actually Frank Herbert himself. This is just a minute, but there are many other such videos out there if it peaks anyone’s interests.

But now why I love this film, is because some of the book’s feel makes it into the final product. It is very heavy with the philosophy of Herbert, which is why I acknowledge that it can be a bit dull at times. This is a slow methodical film. But it does have a bit of the 80’s science-fiction cheese within it to make it fun, which is just another phrase I am using for the older special effects from movies of that era, and I have to admit that I am a sucker for practical effects. Especial of this caliber, the practical work that was put into this piece is amazing, especially the Sandworms of Arrakis.

This is a movie that is awashed in political intrigue like it’s parent book. There are plots within plots to gain political power. Everything has a medieval feel, which was by design of Herbert. Humanity had in a way regressed, despite living amongst the stars.

I would be remised as well if I didn’t mention the actors that are in this that I love as well, Patrick Stewart and Jürgen Prochnow, and to be fair with them in it, it makes it a bit Shakespearean as well.

This story feels like it was ripped straight out of history. Yes it’s takes place far in the future, but the way that humanity has regressed, and the limited travel between planets, it makes a lot of sense within the universe of Dune. As well as the fact that history is always repeating itself, the players and events might be different, but the theme is always the same.

It’s a perfect slow moving political drama, that deals with the dangers of fanaticism and foreknowledge. It will make a watcher either ask deep questions about power structures, or possibly it will make a watcher take a nap. I will admit is has done both. But I would still recommend it, especially to those with a film, philosophy, or history background. And that is not to say others wouldn’t get something out of watching it, but for me, that is what pulls at my emotions when watching it.

Published by coopnoodledorf

I am an independent writer slash filmmaker.

One thought on “Favorite Science Fiction Film: Dune

Leave a comment