Favorite Generation Pokémon 4

Generation 4 of Pokémon; Pokémon Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum. When it came out, I was in college, and had some down time. I started with Diamond. It was also cool when I was able to purchase Pearl, on sale, which this was the generation that I ended getting all three of the games. It made it easier to fill out the pokédex. While 3 was my favorite, I had a blast playing this generation. My Pokémon even got pokérus, which was a first for me. Like Generation 3, this generation also had some great Pokémon designs, especially the starters. And, while I didn’t use them, and not all of them were good designs, I did appreciate them filling out some previous Pokémon lines. Especially the Eevee line.

Normal Type, Bidoof, because I fell in love with the meme.

Fire Type, Infernape, because it’s a cool fire ape. Also around this time, Fire/Fight starters hadn’t become omnipresent yet. To be fair, it was only three generations, and yet it became such a sore spot within the community.

Water Type, East Sea Gastrodon, it’s cool slug, and it came in two forms, before that became a stable of new games. It’s one of the Pokémon that I wished they would add new forms to. I am also a huge fan of blue Pokémon, shiny and regular.

Grass Type, Leafeon, because it’s another Eevee. And I like the move Leaf Blade.

Electric Type, Pachirisu, it’s a cute squirrel.

Ice Type, Glaceon, because it’s another Eevee, and it’s Ice-Type. And I love the look, it’s a nice design, and it’s a nice shade of blue.

Fighting Type, Lucario, because it’s a well designed, strong Pokémon.

Poison Type, Roserade, because I love roses, and it’s shiny is fantastic.

Ground Type, Garchomp, because it’s a cool shark dragon.

Flying Type, Yanmega, because it’s an ancient dragonfly, and dragonflies are really cool.

Psychic Type, Gallade, because it’s a great designed Arthurian-like Pokémon.

Bug Type, Mothim, because it’s got a fantastic shiny.

Rock Type, Bastiodon, because my choices are limited, but it’s still a cool dinosaur.

Ghost Type, Frolass, because this is a great designed ghost. It’s just a great call back to the legends it’s pulling from.

Dragon Type, Dialga, because it’s a cool steel dragon. A lot of these just fall into the cool design.

Dark Type, Spiritomb, because of the above, it’s a cool design.

Steel Type, Empoleon, because it’s a steel water, cool designed pokemon.

Fairy Type, Togekiss, because it finished the Togepi line perfectly. It took an okay Pokémon, and made it really tough, and viable to use. And Togepi, from it’s first appearance in the anime, was just adorable. I know I wanted to use it more, but it wasn’t that strong.

Starter, Empoleon, it’s still one of my favorite starters. It’s just such a reliable Pokémon, and such a good design. Water and Steel are a great combo. I wish we had more starters that shared this type, sort of like the Fire/Fighting type that got repeated so much. But, then, that might cheapen this one.

Gimmick Form, Mega Lucario, because it was a really good update to Lucario.

Legend, Shaymin, because it’s just a well designed legendary Pokémon. It’s a cute hedgehog. I like how cute it is.

Favorite Gen 3, Glaceon, it’s one of my favorite Eeveelutions. It was my favorite, but gen 6 changed that, so it became my second favorite of all the Eevees.

Generation 4, is pretty straight forwards when it comes to my favorites. The rule of cool is on full display here.

Published by coopnoodledorf

I am an independent writer slash filmmaker.

Leave a comment