The Coffee Chronicles: Night of the Bad Dog, part 4

Part One, Part Two, and Part Three,

I threw the duffle bag into the back seat of my car, and pushed my hair back out of my face. Finding everything I needed had been a hassle. How had I become so disheveled. I had even disrupted Miranda’s nap, and she had let me know how disappointed she was in me. There was no look of disappointment like that of a cat. Closing the door I leaned against it. I glanced up at my apartment window and caught Miranda glaring down at me. I shook my head, slipped into my car, and started it. She was right, I had to get going, and then a chuckle escaped my lips. I was perhaps giving to many human qualities to my cat.

I put the car into reverse, checked my mirrors, and pulled out of the parking lot. The bright spot of levity that my cat had provided slipping away as I flew down the road toward the gas station. Lauren had agreed to meet me there, before going out to the camp ground, and I had to convince her that the supernatural existed. I had no idea how hard it would be, some of the police officers had seen the same horrors as Horace, and even thinking about him was painful, and I had. I had no idea how much Lauren knew about those cases.

But I couldn’t deal with a werewolf without her. And I hoped that it was just one. A shiver ran through my spine at that thought. How many were out there, what type of werewolf was it, both very good questions, and both I had no answers. At least not yet. Soon I would, and I would regret it. If I survived. Honestly, I had no desire to, but Horace had gone out there.

So, I was going out there, he was my friend.

It was with that thought that I pulled into the parking lot of the gas station. I glanced around, and saw that Lauren hadn’t arrived yet, so I turned my car off, got out, and headed into the store. The guy behind the counter nodded at me as I entered, and as I nodded back I made a bee-line toward the coffee machine. I grabbed the cup, pushed the button, and the coffee splashed into it. The smell swirled into my nostrils, and I felt some of the tension leave my shoulders. I glanced around debating if I wanted anything else, but I wasn’t sure I could stomach anything else, and I went to the counter. The clerk ran me up, and I slipped out a dollar in change, and walked out of the store.

I stood watching the lights flicker above the pumps, letting my mind drift, then I took a sip of coffee. It was bitter, but I was okay with that. It sort of reflected how I felt right now. I headed to one of the picnic table outside the store and dropped onto it. Like a disgruntle teenager, I sat on the table part, not the bench, as I waited. I cupped my hands around my coffee, letting the warmth seep from it into myself. The fall chill was in the air, but at the moment it wasn’t really registering.

I heard a car, and I glanced over as a car pulled in, it’s lights flashing across me. I waited until it had parked next to me, and I let out a breath I hadn’t been aware I had been holding until Lauren stepped out. She nodded to me, then walked over, before coming to a stop. She crossed her arms, and that made me wince.

“Well, you said you needed help?” She asked.

“Yes, but I need you to believe me,” I started.

“Bridget, I am here aren’t I?” She interrupted.

“Yeah, what was Horace sent out to the camp ground for? Why were additional officers sent? I asked.

Lauren sighed before her lips became a thin line. I waited, even took another sip of coffee, before Lauren broke eye contact with me.

“Let me guess, it was a wild animal attack.” I stated more than asked.

“I was more than that,” Lauren replied without emotion, “We got reports of people disappearing out there. The owner of the campground became a suspect. Horace was sent out there to search the man’s cabin, and grounds.”

“At night?” I asked.

“No, but it was during the afternoon, it took a while to get a warrant,” she explained.

I nodded, then felt a bit sick, Horace would have thought it was a normal killer, not a werewolf. He would have called me if he thought about it. Sometimes life was unfair. I stared down into my cup of coffee, watching the black liquid swirl.

“Lauren, I need you to be prepared, I am pretty sure they are dead,” I stated.

“What?” She asked.

I looked up at her, and just nodded.

“I know you went out there, but why would you think that?” She continued.

“Because I nearly was killed by a werewolf,” I stated.

She took a step back, then shook her head, however I could barely read what she was thinking. Her face seemed to dance with emotions. From confusion, to denial, to acceptance.

“Look, werewolves, I mean I have read some of the reports. But that, that’s going a bit far isn’t it?” She finally asked.

“Now you know why Horace always looked broken, it’s not easy learning about the supernatural or the occult,” I answered back.

She stood there, then slipped her arms apart, placing them on her hips.

“Fine, then I can assume you need my help killing it?” She asked.

That brought a smile to my face, and I drank the rest of my coffee.

“Yes,” I replied lowering my empty cup.

She nodded, and I stood up, tossing the now empty cup into the trash bin.

“Let’s get going, I can explain on the way,” I remarked heading towards my car.

“What about silver bullets?” She asked.

“Already have some, and wolfsbane as well,” I answered.

“What about the size?” She asked.

I glanced over my shoulder with another smile.

“Nineteen millimeter, as well as some shotgun shells,” I answered.

“So, standard issue, then let me grab my shotgun from the trunk,” She replied going to her car as she slipped the keys out.

I opened my car door, my emotions at war with each other, on one hand relief, and the other dismay. Lauren was straightforward and practical. I wouldn’t have to worry about her. On the other hand, my friend who was also that, was probably dead.


I glanced at my watch, 9PM, and I slid across the floor of the cabin. In one hand I had my shotgun, and the other my flashlight. To what use I could use them, that was debatable, and I knew I only still had them to steady my nerves. I reached the window, and glanced out. The wind was still moving the tree branches, causing the moonlight to dance, breaking the shadows apart. I could see the vehicles, and again debated if I should make a dash to them with the other two. But both had been bit, and one was slowly slipping away.

And I knew my horror movies.

Which one would think would help, but in this situation, it just made me realize how screwed I was. Not for the first time I reached down and felt the cold dead lump of my cellphone in my coat pocket. The damn thing had broken it when it tossed me against the cabin wall, though a broken cellphone I could live with, especially since I hadn’t been bitten or scratched. I wouldn’t turn. However, the other two police officers would, and honestly I had no idea when that would happen. Would it be tonight during the current full moon or the next full moon?

Honestly I needed Bridget out here. And then I saw the shadowy form of the beast lurking in the trees, and I really wished Bridget was out here. I had an okay understanding of the occult, but she was an expert.


“First off, like real wolves, there are no such things as Alpha and Beta werewolves,” I started to instruct while I drove, “Wolves live in family packs, the leaders of which are the parents. So if the werewolf is one that is a wolf that becomes human, they are pretty tame in comparison. They are the ones that can change whenever they feel like it, and in human society come off as animalistic. Those that are human first, well, they can come about from using the skin of a wolf, a curse, or a bite.”

“Like the movies?” She asked.

“For the most part. Those that use the animal skin, they aren’t so bad, they share the pack structure of wolves. The curse and bite variety are the dangerous ones, and are very similar to those that grace the silver screen,” I replied.

“What about those that can just turn into wolves, like I was a Teenage Werewolf?” She asked.

That made me laugh a bit, story tellers weren’t a new thing, that was what I studied, but boy did the way they told stories change. It also made it easier to fill in a person’s knowledge about the supernatural and occult.

“I lump them in with those that use the wolf skin, though that is a bit false. Those that use the skin are still people, and people can be cruel and vicious. In fact when it comes to werewolves’ aggression, it’s usually the human element that makes them monsters,” I remarked.

Lauren sat back absorbing the information I had just given her, then reached back and pulled a box of silver bullets from the duffle bag. She quietly started to load them into one of her pistol clips. She then paused and looked as the bullet.

“Why does silver hurt them?” She finally asked.

“Honest speculation, because silver has pure energy,” I stated.

“Pure energy?” She asked confusesed before glancing at me.

“Well, when it comes to metal, most cultures agree that it has mystical properties. I think that’s why,” I explained.

“So, it’s effective, because we believed it’s effective?” She asked with some skepticism.

“Yup, and don’t tell me you don’t believe it will be, not after all the movies you’ve probably seen,” I countered.

She sat there, and I watched out of the corner of my eye, as the light of the street lamps slid across her face, her trying to dismiss my argument. She then shrugged her shoulder and started to loud her pistol clip again.

“No, you’re right, I can’t even bring myself to doubt that they will not work,” she stated.

I nodded, a bit smug, and turned onto the dirt road towards the campsite. My muscles tensed, and I could feel the fear creeping through my body. However, I had a job to do, and I was going to do it.


I slide back to the door to the basement, and quietly closed the door. In the darkness I clicked on my flashlight and slowly made my way down the old wooden steps. Reaching the dirt floor, I quickly, and as quietly as I could, reached the old cellar door and rushed inside. I closed it, re-locked it, and took a deep breath. The stench of rotten meat filled my noise and I cursed. Turning around I found the two officers at the back, and sat next to them. The one looked about ready to die, but the other, who was holding a bloody rag to his friend, only looked to be in slight shock.

“It still out there?” He asked weakly.

“Yeah,” I answered. I flashed the light across the wounded officer, then around the cellar.

The dead bodies of the missing people hung on hooks, their bodies decaying. If I was in better shape I would’ve thrown up, but as it was, I was just to tired. On the plus side they had been bled dry, so there wasn’t any blood covering the dirt floor, and I wasn’t pleased with that. It meant they had been moved. This was premeditative. Especially since the door to the cellar was designed to lock on the inside and outside. Like it was designed to make it hard to get into and out of. I checked my watch, 9:30, time seemed to fly when death was so near.


I pulled the car slowly into the campground, using my lights to illuminate the area, every nerve on fire. Lauren slid a clip of silver bullets into her pistol, and then another two into her breast-pockets. She then handed me one, and I pulled my holster out of the duffle bag behind me. I slipped it on, pulled out my pistol, and slid the clip into it. I left the car running as I pulled out a sawed-off shot gun from my bag and loaded two shells.

“Really? Those are illegal,” Lauren commented as she pocketed a couple of shells before loading five into her own shotgun.

“I am aware, I am also aware how most supernatural creatures like to live in small tight areas. Usually underground or in the sewers,” I answered her as I opened the door, grabbing the flashlight she offered me.

“Fair enough,” She responded before also stepping out of the vehicle.

I motioned to her, and we left the door open. I clicked my flashlight, while she did as well, before she clipped it onto her shotgun. We then started to sweep the tree line with our weapons, searching for the creature, I even flashed the light up into the trees occasionally.

“Keep you’re eyes everywhere, especially up in the trees,” I whispered.

Lauren nodded, then armed her shotgun, while I did the same. I swallowed as I continued to sweep the trees looking for the beast that had attacked me. Somewhere it was out there, in the darkness, and I debated checking the cabin. However, I was pretty sure there was nothing in there, at least it had appeared empty when I had been here earlier.


I checked my watch, it was ten now, and I stood up stretching. I glanced down at my fellow officer, and crouched next to him. I felt for his pulse, and I closed my eyes. He was gone. I locked eyes with his friend, who understood, his eyes filling with water. There was nothing we could do, and I stood back up. With an irritated growl I turned to the door. I was tired of hiding. I would rather go out fighting than hiding here. I stomped towards the door, and started to unlock it. Then was thrown back as something large slammed against the door. The last two locks held, but I knew it wouldn’t for long. I grabbed my shotgun while the other police officer pulled out his pistol, I heard him thumb the hammer back, as the beast slammed against the door again.


I paused as I heard another muffled explosion. I glanced over at Lauren, who nodded, and then I swept the trees again. Another muffled explosion, and my eyes swiveled toward the cabin. It had come from there. I felt like a fool, and sprinted towards it. Lauren right behind me, and we flew up the steps of the cabin. I tried the door, and it swung open unlocked. I heard something slam in the basement, and I took a steadying breath.

“Why is it always underground,” I muttered and I ran to one of the doors.

I ripped it open, and found a closet, then I looked over to Lauren who opened a door to a kitchen. Another slam downstairs, and we were able to zone in onto the door as it shook.


I lay on the floor waiting, as one of the locks broke, and I felt a calm settle upon me. The beast slammed against the door, and it blasted inward. Dust was blown up into the air covering everything with a haze, and I pulled the trigger as the beast emerged from that haze. It staggered, especially when the other officer opened fire. The beast roared, reared up, his talon raised to end my life.

When I heard a blast from another shotgun, and the beasts chest erupted in front of me, dousing me with blood. My eyes widened, especially when another shotgun fired, and the beast let out a roar of pain.


I flipped the shells out, then reloaded as Lauren pumped her shotgun and fired again. My ears rang with pain, and I wasn’t looking forward to the doctor appointment. I was surprised I didn’t have hearing aids now.

I smiled at my own flippancy, then snapped my shotgun closed, and fired into the monster’s mouth as it turned to roar at us. The shells ripped the beasts jaw apart. It reached up, then dropped to it’s knees. I lowered my weapon as the beast started to shed it’s skin. I heard Lauren forcing herself not to vomit, but I had seen worse, and wasn’t surprised when the skin turned into a wolf pelt. This hadn’t been a man cursed, it had actually been a killer with a wolf pelt. I glanced past the man, and saw Horace laying on the floor, his eyes wide. However when they met mine he smiled.

“Well, I should have guessed,” He remarked standing up.

He glanced down at the blood covering his cloths, then at the man and wolf pelt. He slowly moved around him, and pulled her into a hug. She patted his back, and glanced past him, even in the dim light she could see the hanging corpses. I shook my head sad.

“I am glad you ain’t dead,” I remarked pushing him away with a smile.

“Well I am glad you came, sorry I didn’t call you first,” He remarked, before glancing over at Lauren.

I did as well, and smiled as she held her stomach.

“Lauren, surprised to see you here, thanks,” He remarked before turning to the other officer, “Mark, Mark didn’t make it, but what about Bill? He got bit.”

“Not that kind of werewolf, he transforms using the wolf pelt,” I exclaimed.

“So, the full moon won’t turn Bill later?” He asked.

“No, but should get a rabies shot,” I remarked stepping towards the man sitting on the ground, “Why?”

The man’s mouth was still ripped apart, and he was slowly dying. I felt a twinge of guilt, but I squashed it.

“Why?” I asked again.

Horace placed his hand on my shoulder, and I stood up to look at him.

“Does it matter?” He asked.

“For you it should, you have to explain it,” I responded.

“True, but a serial killer, who attacked police officers, most won’t look to close. You being here, however, we’re going to keep that quiet. Right?” He glanced back at Lauren and Bill, who both nodded.

I nodded, then turned away, needing to get outside. Lauren moved toward Horace, and I was pretty sure she was going to help him get the wounded officer, Bill, and the dead one, Mark out of the basement. I should help, but I just need a few minutes. Horace and Lauren seemed to understand, and didn’t say anything. So, I soon found myself on the porch and sat on the bench. I felt so tired. I listened to the wind, as it stirred the trees. The full moon was still making it’s way across the sky, and I leaned back to look up at it. I took a few deep breaths, then looked down, only to freeze.

Glowing yellow eyes, four pairs of them, glared up at me. Wolves, larger than normal, glared at me. I glared back, swallowing. These weren’t normal wolves, I could tell by how their eyes glowed with intelligence. They just stood there, and I felt frozen. Then I heard Horace and Lauren exiting the basement. I glanced behind me, and when I turned back the wolves were gone.

“I hate the outdoors,” I muttered standing up to go help them with the other two officers.

It didn’t take long for us to get out of there after that, and soon Horace, Lauren, and I sat at the twenty-four dinner, eating breakfast. Horace and I had ordered coffee, but Lauren had ordered cranberry juice. That to me, was a bit weird, but I would allow it. None of us were talking, I think we just needed company right now. I knew I did after running into more werewolves. I had to wonder at what type they had been, because they had been werewolves. But that had been a pack, so I was sure they were harmless, at least I hoped so. I would wait, and I hated that. If an innocent died, it would be my fault, but if I didn’t I would be killing an innocent being. I took a bite of my pancakes, and savored their fluffy goodness.

Published by coopnoodledorf

I am an independent writer slash filmmaker.

Leave a comment