Dune part 2 first thoughts

To start I am going to try and not spoil anything. For context, I have watched the 80’s Dune movie, the the TV mini series(both of them), and I have read the first two books. I have also looked ahead on wikis and watched Youtubers discuss the series. I plan to read more of the series eventually. Just need the time to do so.

Having said all of that, I went with my friend and brother, two days ago. Each of us had read the first book. We all agreed on one thing, that this was the “Star Wars” of our time. That being a reference to how people reacted to the first Star Wars film. Or honestly how people responded to the first Lord of the Rings films. These two films are going to define a generation. Or at least, I would argue that, there is something special about the continuation of the first film. I feel like they’re just going to continue to grow in popularity. Now, perhaps I am being optimistic, but I don’t think so. Denis Villeneuve and everyone else who worked on these films, have done what many thought was impossible.

In less words, as to avoid spoilers for those who do not know the story, this film was fantastic. And I will say, the changes that were made to the story, enhanced the original story. They succeeded where many have failed, what they changed to the story, made the original story better.

Now, there are things that I miss from the books, but they wouldn’t have made the films better. I know because we’ve already seen them in previous adaptations. And adaptations that were never made, which will always be a shame. A fourteen hour film would have been interesting.

Like, there are things that I like from Peter Jackson‘s Lord of the Rings films, with Fellowship being the one that I have no complaints about. But there are a lot of things that he changed, that I have problems with. I have posted about them multiple times, but I bring that up to highlight that when I compare these films, with part two being the main focus, I am not going to sing their praises without critiquing them as films and as adaptations.

Something else that I learned in college from my film making teachers, is that every film is worth watching once. That every film can teach you something.

I critic the Lord of the Rings films, but I can acknowledge that they are very well made films. Where I think they fall flat is as adaptations to the original story. And that failure to adapt the main theme of the story, has hurt the franchise going forwards.

These movies are not that. As films, they are masterpieces, and as adaptations, they captured the theme of the story. Others might disagree, art is subjective, and everyone interreacts with art differently. Honestly, both Lord of the Rings and Star Wars franchises have been coasting on their previous successes. Now that doesn’t mean everything that has come out is bad. I actually like some of what they did in the Hobbit movies, but they suffered from trying to be Lord of the Rings. I like Star Wars Rouge One, Seven, and Eight. Mandalorian and Bad Batch are some of the highlights for me. Now that I am thinking about them, Star Wars has been getting better, Lord of the Rings decided to keep digging.

However to sum up the point I am making, these films showcase what modern filmmakers are failing at. I know that is a strong statement, but the second part was near perfect. Taking both Part one and Part two together they are top tier cinema. I really do believe, based on the chatter around these films, they will be seen as one of the greats. It may also be like Star Wars and Lord of the Rings, it will herald a new wave of filmmaking. At least, that it my hope, but time will tell.

Published by coopnoodledorf

I am an independent writer slash filmmaker.

Leave a comment