Pokémon Frustrations

Pretty much towards the end of school, I was, and still am, playing Pokémon Violet to pass the time. Destress after the day. Just to relax. And one thing that I really like to do is shiny hunt. Now, I have feelings on shinnies, if they are just a slightly different color, that is very frustrating. But, if you can find a cool shiny, it can make your day.

Since about May 20rd, I have been searching for a specific shiny. Just because I thought it looked pretty cool, and I haven’t caught one yet. So, I am now on day 18, this being the 7th of June. I have even made two shiny sandwiches for it.

I am not hunting hard, one of the sandwiches, I caught a Foongus. It’s won me over, but that is the second Foongus in the same location. So two of those, but not the one that I am searching for. Now it is cool, that one was without a sandwich, so, my shiny luck in Violet has been better than in Scarlet.

Also caught a Venomoth, which is my second as well. Granted, it’s a fantastic shiny, it’s blue. I love blue shinnies. Found and caught an Oinkologne, also a really cool shiny. Then I also caught a Drednaw. Another great shiny. Again, these three, and one of the Foongus, no sandwiches. They were just random lucky shinnies.

Then I found a Makuhita, and it’s such a great shiny, it’s a red shiny, but it makes Makuhita look so good. I screamed in celebration, the cats came to check on me, worried, as well as my roommate. I was that happy. Makuhita is a very good Pokémon, and again, it’s a fantastic shiny. I nicknamed it Cranberry.

Still not the Pokémon I was looking for. 6 shinnies, but not the one that I am looking for. Two of them are even duplicates.

I eventually started to go and do Tera Raids to keep my sanity, and to gather supplies. So I am traveling around the map, and what do I stumble across. A shiny Tauros! Another duplicate, now, I am happy to find another, I plan to transfer it to my Scarlet. It is my redemption for missing it all those years ago when I first got the game, but it’s still not the Pokémon that I am looking for!

It’s Shroodle! The stupid lemur Pokémon, Shroodle is a good color shift for a shiny, and Grafaiai is a wildly amazing shiny. But no, I even wasted a second sandwich, and haven’t found one. I have found 7 other shinnies, 3 of them are duplicates, but not the one that I am purposely going for. It is vexing to say the least.

Published by coopnoodledorf

I am an independent writer slash filmmaker.

Leave a comment